Berlin Gets Physical by Cook Strummer

Three years after Reno Wurzbacher's entry into the series, Cook Strummer now offers up his own Berlin Gets Physical, a collection of all-new and exclusive tracks.

Berlin Gets Physical by Cook Strummer Art by Get Physical Music

This collection will come digitally but also as two different vinyl versions - one will be available publicly, and the other is a special edition produced together with the Belgian gallery, Mazel Galerie. The cover art for it was designed by Lyon-based street artist, Brusk, and the original will be auctioned by the same gallery in Brussels.

Berlin-based, Belgium-born Strummer has been a Get Physical associate for several years. He has dropped various singles including the standout "Rising" which is also featured on the Words Don't Come Easy series, and always crafts the perfect mix of rhythm and melody with plenty of hints of his homeland's famous cold wave sound. He often uses his own voice, drum machines, synths, and guitars in his music, and since his debut album in 2018 on LOK Recordings, he has had high-profile support from the likes of Laurent Garnier, Adam Port, and Ame. This summer, he dropped "Atmosphere" on Obsolet Records which proved another successful outing and now Berlin Gets Physical finds him digging deep into the famous city's freshest and most essential house sounds across 15 well-sequenced tracks.

His own new offering "For Berlin" kicks off with a dark and edgy vibe, gothic vocals, and tense drums. Glitchy hits and blurting synths add to the prickly atmosphere and immediately lock you in while Los Cabra & Manuel Sahagun's "Italian Groove" then takes off on waves of serrated dark disco synths and Freudenthal feat. Nowhere People continue that macho disco vibe with the rugged chug and cosmic rays of "Cipher".

The twinkling "Bad Karma" by Marvin Jam & Le Mythe then allows you to catch your breath with a slower, more spacious dub disco sound, and the twanging bass riffs and exotic effects of Daniel Jaeger & Valenti's "Quarantine Cowboys" rebuilds the atmosphere with some innovative house blues. The mid-section brings brain-frying synth work on "Out Of The Blue", bubbling dub house and disco courtesy of dramasquad's sprawling ziggy and percussive deep house looseness from "Abayomi".

After K.E.E.N.E.'s rubbery and rolling Afro sounds come more cosmic house richness from Dan Buri and Max Joni & MUKKIMIAU, the driving tech of Red Pig Flower & Lulla, and heady sounds of Mike Book. There is a raw house heaviness to FreedomB's "State of Shock" and things shut down with Electronic Elephant's tightly coiled minimal drum funk on "Ask Yourself".

Cook Strummer - Berlin Gets Physical
Release Date September 2022
Label Get Physical Music

01. Cook Strummer - For Berlin
02. Los Cabra & Manuel Sahagun - Italian Groove
03. Freudenthal feat. Nowhere People - Cipher
04. Marvin Jam & Le Mythe - Bad Karma
05. Daniel Jaeger & Valenti - Quarantine Cowboys
06. Air Horse One - Out Of The Blue
07. dramasquad - ziggy
08. Abayomi - Juba
09. K.E.E.N.E. - Ecoute
10. Dan Buri - Zion
11. Max Joni & MUKKIMIAU - Everafter
12. Red Pig Flower & Lulla - Radioactive
13. Mike Book - Ready To Go
14. FreedomB - State of Shock
15. Electronic Elephant - Ask Yourself

Mathias Haegglund Code Collector, Globetrotter, and Occasional Gamer.