Carboot Soul Deluxe Edition by Nightmares on Wax

Nightmares On Wax announces the deluxe edition of the iconic, genre-defining Carboot Soul. This special deluxe edition is being released on streaming platforms for the first time.

Carboot Soul Deluxe Edition by Nightmares on Wax Art by Warp Records

Marking its 25th anniversary, the reissue of Carboot Soul comes with renditions of two iconic tracks: "Les Nuits (Hip Hop Reprise)" and "Keep On feat. De La Soul (Chill Mix)" with hip-hop royalty De La Soul. Following two sold-out performances at London's Southbank Centre last month, Nightmares on Wax is returning to Leeds at Project House for an exclusive Carboot Soul weekend takeover, accompanied by a live band!

Reflecting on Carboot Soul, Nightmares On Wax says: "I'm really really excited about this reissue of the 25th anniversary of Carboot Soul, it feels great to celebrate this album. It all comes in new packaging with a re-vamp of its original artwork which was done by Zulu Monk / Monkey Lee, and it comes with an unreleased hip hop version of Les Nuits, as well as an unreleased track which is a version of the De La Soul track. I recorded at the same time as recording this album. The name Carboot Soul comes from me always going to car boot sales & flea markets digging for records. Then I would sample these records, make these tracks and then go back to the car to see if the mixes were right. So it was like a full cycle of the music and the creation process which is why it's called Carboot Soul. So it's from the car boot, to the soul! Let's celebrate!"

Over the last three decades, as Warp's longest-serving artist, George Evelyn has consistently led the charge in contemporary music, mixing electronica, jazz, hip-hop, techno, dub, funk, and soul. Carboot Soul, one of Nightmares on Wax's earliest and genre-defining works, still captivates audiences 25 years after its release. A vinyl classic version of Carboot Soul is set to be repressed to celebrate this milestone.

Nightmares on Wax - Carboot Soul Deluxe Edition
Release Date 31st May 2024
Label Warp Records

01. Les Nuits
02. Morse
03. Ethnic Majority
04. Jorgé
05. Finer
06. Easejimi
07. Argha Noah
08. Fire In The Middle
09. Survival
10. Capumcap
11. Les Nuits (Hip Hop Reprise)
12. Keep On feat. De La Soul (Chill Mix)

Mathias Haegglund Code Collector, Globetrotter, and Occasional Gamer.