Welcome To The Future EP by POPOF & Mauro Somm

POPOF and Mauro Somm join forces on Factory 93 for a triple dose of surging techno, complemented by a remix from Julian Jeweil.

Welcome To The Future EP by POPOF & Mauro Somm Art by Factory 93

Following the success of his Factory 93 debut last year, "Maze Distortion," long-time techno heavyweight POPOF teams up with Argentine up-and-comer Mauro Somm for a fast-paced return to the label that looks squarely into the future. The aptly titled "Welcome To The Future EP" is a blistering journey through saw-wave synth riffs, ominous vocals, and heavy drums across three originals, rounded out with a remix from French underground mainstay Julian Jeweil.

The opening tune, "Astral," sets the tone for the EP, its pulsing bass and swirling melodies shooting listeners into a futuristic techno soundscape somewhere in the stratosphere. Next, the title track "Welcome To The Future" trades in melody for percussion and a cacophony of laser-like sound effects, making it a perfect peak-time roller. The final original, "Connected To Yourself," maintains a straightforward, refined groove with robotic vocals and swelling synth effects. To close, Julian Jewell contributes a massive remix that strips down the title track to its essentials, giving listeners a raw, powerful, percussion-forward track.

POPOF & Mauro Somm - Welcome To The Future EP
Release Date February 2024
Label Factory 93

1. Astral
2. Welcome To The Future
3. Connected To Yourself
4. Welcome To The Future (Julian Jeweil Remix)

Justin Richardson Canadian Garbage Collector Extraordinaire