Nervous Brooklyn Sessions - Vol 1

New York’s Nervous Records kick-starts the year with a four-track Various Artists compilation from Disco Town (Angelo Ferreri & Moon Rocket), Mark Lower, and Sue Avenue entitled Nervous Brooklyn Sessions - Vol 1.

Nervous Brooklyn Sessions - Vol 1 Photo by Nervous Records

Throughout its respected 27-year history, Nervous has cemented its reputation as one of dance music’s most iconic labels, releasing pivotal output from house legends like Louie Vega, Kenny Dope and Todd Terry, not to mention fostering numerous emerging talent from New York and beyond.

This year Nervous rented and hosted Angelo Ferreri, Moon Rocket, Mark Lower and Sue Avenue at a studio in Williamsburg for three full days. These were open for 24 hours with invitiations extended to local talent - the result is "Nervous Brooklyn Sessions". Volume 1 inaugurates the series, featuring a collaboration between Angelo Ferreri and Moon Rocket, French producer Mark Lower, as well as Nite Grooves artist Sue Avenue joined by New York’s DJ Romain.

Disco Town kick things off with infectious disco samples, jazzy chords and uplifting strings in "Got What You Need" before Nurvous regular Mark Lower’s "I Wanna Be With You" delivers funk-infused grooves, a luscious sax line and resonating kicks.

Sue Avenue - a project by Belgium’s Pieter Santens - offers up smooth flute waves, warm low end and revitalising keys in "Brooklyn By Night" before closing the EP with a delicious house cut by means of "Let There Be House" featuring New York’s DJ Romain which delivers soulful atmospheres, indulgent sound design and enticing vocals throughout.

Various Artists - Nervous Brooklyn Sessions - Vol 1
Release Date
1st February 2019
Label Nervous Records

1. Disco Town (Angelo Ferreri & Moon Rocket) - Got What You Need
2. Mark Lower - I Wanna Be With You
3. Sue Avenue - Brooklyn By Night
4. Sue Avenue ft. DJ Romain - Let There Be House

Evlear Magazine We write articles about Music, Cars, Road Rallies, Lifestyle, and Festivals.