David Rodigan presents Masterpiece

David Rodigan, master of reggae, has been on the scene for over 30 years and counting. He is the perfect talent to front the next album in the prized Masterpiece series from the Ministry of Sound out for release 27th January 2014.

David Rodigan presents Masterpiece Photo by Ministry of Sound

David Rodigan, master of reggae, has been on the scene for over 30 years and counting. With an MBE and a host of prestigious accolades under his belt, he is the perfect talent to front the next album in the prized ‘Masterpiece’ series from Ministry of Sound out for release 27th January 2014.

The ‘Masterpiece’ series is a concept fronted by artists and DJs of the highest calibre. It’s an opportunity for these pioneering acts to curate a three disc musical journey that depicts their own influences and inspirations which they can share with their fans. With predecessors including Andrew Weatherall, Fabio & Grooverider and Gilles Peterson, the level of reputation and irrefutable standing of acts selected for ‘Masterpiece’ in the past is a given.

David’s unsinkable passion for reggae music and his world renowned talent for triumph in sound clashes against the likes of Barry G, Jamaica’s champion DJ, led to his victory at the World Clash Reset in New York where he took the Champion Trophy. In 2005 he was given a place in the Sony Radio Academy Hall of Fame and has won three extremely coveted Sony Radio Academy Gold Awards. In 2012 he was awarded the MBE for ‘Service to Broadcasting’.

As one of few DJs to have influenced and inspired the masses for over three generations, Rodigan has adapted like no other DJ of his calibre has managed to. Not only is he a true legend in the reggae world, but he is also a respected father figure for today’s UK bass producers, rubbing shoulders with Toddla T and Ms Dynamite, collaborating with Caspa, Chase & Status and Breakage and hosting his own ‘Ram Jam’ events.

Masterpiece is a document of David’s journey as a Deejay, starting with his initiation into the sounds of Sixties British pop and American soul, and passing through four decades of the evolution of Jamaican music in all its guises: ska, rocksteady, reggae, dub, dancehall and the new roots revival.

“I have made other compilations,” he says. “But I decided this should be a reflection of my life musically, including both the things I grew up listening to and the things I am currently enjoying.”

David’s selection has been carefully broken down into three discs featuring arange of influences from The Kinks, Marvin Gaye, Etta James, Dusty Springfield, Bob Marley & The Wailers, Tessanne Chin, King Tubby and Ini Kamoze to name a few. As an added way of saying thank you to all his fans, a selection of tracks will be available as a 7 inch vinyl boxset, handpicked by David Rodigan. The package will also include exclusive lines from David himself on what each track means to him, as well as a custom made dink with his signature.

Ministry of Sound presents Masterpiece: David Rodigan (MBE)
Release date 27th January 2014
Label Ministry of Sound

CD1: Hey Youthman
01. The Kinks - You Really Got Me
02. The Yardbirds - For Your Love
03. Marvin Gaye - Ain’t That Peculiar
04. The Impressions - Gypsy Woman
05. James Brown & The Famous Flames - I Loves You Porgy
06. Etta James - At Last
07. The Tornadoes - Telstar
08. Small Faces - Itchycoo Park
09. Dusty Springfield - You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
10. Bessie Banks - Go Now
11. Aaron Neville - Tell It Like It Is
12. Jet Harris & Tony Meehan - Diamonds
13. Justin Hinds & The Dominos - Carry Go Bring Come
14. Desmond Dekker - Beautiful And Dangerous
15. Alton Ellis - Black Man’s Pride
16. Bob Marley & The Wailers - Small Axe
17. Delroy Wilson - Love Uprising
18. Augustus Pablo - Java

CD2: Cool Out Son
01. Dennis Brown - My Time
02. Bob Andy - Life
03. The Heptones - Meaning Of Life
04. The Abyssinians - Poor Jason Whyte
05. Freddie McGregor - Big Ship
06. Johnny Osbourne & The Sensations - See And Blind
07. Brent Dowe - When The Sun Goes
08. Jackie Edwards & Julie Anne - In Paradise
09. Cornell Campbell - Harry Hippy
10. Lloyd Charmers - Colour Him Father
11. Tessanne Chin - You Got What I Need
12. Etana - Reggae
13. Tarrus Riley feat. Winston "Mr. Fix It" Francis - Hurt Me
14. Aswad - Back To Africa
15. Astrud Gilberto - (Take Me To) Aruanda
16. Arthur Prysock - Autumn In New York
17. Garnet Mimms & The Enchanters - A Quiet Place
18. Billy Stewart - Sitting In The Park

CD3: Stepping Out of Babylon
01. Lee “Scratch” Perry and The Upsetters - Black Panta
02. Marcia Griffiths - Stepping Out Of Babylon
03. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley - One Loaf Of Bread (Something For You)
04. Luciano - Deliverance
05. Exco Levi - Storms Of Life
06. Nadine Sutherland - Karma
07. Riva Starr feat. Bob Andy - The Care Song
08. Amy Winehouse - You’re Wondering Now
09. Liam Bailey - When Will They Learn
10. Cate Ferris - Blaze Bright
11. Beres Hammond - No Candlelight
12. Ini Kamoze - England Be Nice
13. Raging Fyah - Nah Look Back
14. King Tubby & Johnny Clarke - Knock Out Punch
15. Busy Signal - Modern Day Slavery
16. Morgan Heritage - Stand Up
17. The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra feat. Bitty McLean - Fu Man Chu
18. Paul S.C.U.B.I Smith - Word Smith

Evlear Magazine We write articles about Music, Cars, Road Rallies, Lifestyle, and Festivals.