Richard Durand presents Wide Awake

Featuring the chart-busting singles Tiger's Apology & Dry Land and vocal collaborations with the luminaries like JES and Christian Burns, Richard Durand is ready to un-cage his thrilling new album Wide Awake.

Richard Durand presents Wide Awake Photo by Black Hole Recordings

Having successfully rebooted In Search Of Sunrise into an IDMA-nominated compilation, the latter half of 2010 saw Richard Durand return to the studio. Over six months he recorded the follow-up to his freshman album, ‘Always The Sun’. Now he’s ready to put the year into overdrive with his much anticipated second long-player.

With the album giving him an ideal platform with which to expand his musical scope, the Dutchman has housed 17 whip-sharp, cross-party electronic dance tracks on ’Wide Awake’.

Following its completion, Richard commented: “When I started this album, I knew that it wouldn’t be ‘Always the Sun Pt. II’ - I didn’t feel there’d be any sense in covering exactly the same ground again. I wanted each successive track I produced to have a different feel and tone than the last. This method has led to a long-player I’m extremely happy and proud of. Now, more than anything, I’m looking forward to taking the music into the clubs and seeing the crowd’s reactions to it!”

From the very first key-strike of its dazzling curtain raiser ‘Burning Piano’ through to the gauzy melodics of ‘Clear Blue Sky’ and the hookily vocal-led title track ‘Wide Awake’, the album builds a large precedent. Diversifying out into other spheres, it serves buzzing distortion-driven house fare like ‘Robotic’ and high-octane, electro-fused numbers like ‘Disturbed’ & ‘Real Deal’ just as fast.

Those on the look out for high-impact tech-trance-minded Durand floor-thrillers won’t need to hunt far either. ‘Airwell’, ‘Open Range’, ‘Incredible Music’, ‘Tiger’s Apology’ & ‘Crystal’ (with protégée Alex O’Rion) all open the throttle and set their sights collectively on the heart of the floor.

For its vocal numbers, Richard has gathered together some of very special singing/song-writing talent. Christian Burns (who sung on Tiësto’s ‘Alone in the Dark’), and JES add mood and moment to ‘Night & Day’ and ‘N.Y.C.’ respectively, while Kash’s atypical rapid-fire lyrics and staccato vocals light ‘Explode’s touch-paper.

From the sharp end of trance synthery, thru to swirling progressive atmospherics, to the speaker-quaking bass-rock of electro… and all points in between, Durand’s ‘Wide Awake’ posts a new apex in his career.

Richard Durand - Wide Awake
Release date March 14th, 2011
Label Magik Muzik/Black Hole Recordings

01. Richard Durand - Burning Piano
02. Richard Durand - Clear Blue Sky
03. Richard Durand feat. Ellie Lawson - Wide Awake
04. Richard Durand - Airwell
05. Richard Durand feat. Kash - Explode
06. Richard Durand - Frozen Dreams
07. Andain - Everything From Me (Richard Durand Remix)
08. Richard Durand - Dryland
09. Richard Durand feat. Christian Burns - Night and Day
10. Richard Durand - Robotic
11. Richard Durand feat. JES - N.Y.C.
12. Richard Durand - Tiger's Apology
13. Richard Durand - Open Range
14. Richard Durand - Real Deal
15. Richard Durand vs. Alex O'Rion - Crystal
16. Richard Durand - Incredible Music
17. Richard Durand - Disturbed

Evlear Magazine We write articles about Music, Cars, Road Rallies, Lifestyle, and Festivals.