Defected presents In the House Ibiza 11

The ultimate acid test of good music is a packed dance floor at 7 am. This is where the Defected Ibiza sound is inspired and road tested.

Defected presents In the House Ibiza 11 Photo by Defected Records

Defected In The House in Ibiza is the destination where the world’s clubbers come together, for us it’s all about one love and unity. The name has now become an institution on the island, when you go to Defected you know what you will get, quality house music and lots of it. In a world of trend-setting, following and failing, we’re sticking to our guns for Defected In The House Ibiza ’11, providing 3 CDs of timeless house music to represent the soundtrack to the forthcoming summer season.

In dance music, Ibiza is undoubtedly the place where reputations are built, maintained and ultimately either stand the test of time or fade into obscurity within just a few seasons. This can be said about DJs, clubs and record labels alike, and the fact is, with so much choice on the island, people - quite rightly - vote with their feet; if your dancefloor’s empty at 3am it’s probably because you’re doing something wrong.

Defected have had a summer residency on the island since 2003, and at our current home Pacha since 2005; not bad when you consider the calibre of competition, with every label and DJ vying for the handful of weekly slots available. And it is our firm belief that we have maintained this position by consistently presenting what we believe to be the very finest and purest house music on the planet; moving with the times of course, but refusing to follow flash-in-the-pan trends that burn brightly before fading to nothing when the next ‘big thing’ comes along.

It is this international flagship residency that drives the inspiration and the musical direction for Defected’s benchmark compilation series. Defected In The House - Ibiza ’11 is mixed by Simon Dunmore, the international DJ, A&R guru and founder of Defected Records. His knowledge of dance music is infinite so he is perfectly positioned to choose and collect the upfront sounds of the summer so you can get a sneak peak of what will be the season’s biggest tunes before anyone else.

The Ibiza experience is not just about those peak time highs, it’s about kicking back and having those summertime Balearic moments by the beach and pool. This compilation conveys the varying vibes of the island with three different mixes and flavours. The first mix reflects the pre-party sunset sounds of Café Mambo or the early doors warm up of Pacha itself. Taking in brand new releases from the likes of Kings Of Tomorrow, Induceve, Freaks, King Britt and mixing them up with reworked classics like 4th Measure Men’s ‘4 You’ (Maya Jane Coles Remix) and Cevin Fisher’s dub of Submission’s ‘Women Beat Their Men’.

The second mix is without question the main room, peak time sound of Saturday nights at Pacha. Here the records are reflective of the Defected In The House guest DJs throughout the 17 week Summer residency which include tracks by; Frankie Knuckles, The Shapeshifters, Copyright, Sandy Rivera and ATFC (all performing at the event) alongside huge summer moments from James Talk & Ridney, Osunlade and Style Of Eye.

Mix three focuses on the down tempo side to Ibiza, be it relaxing by the pool pre expeditions into nightlife, the after party back at the villa or simply to recover with from the night before. Opening with dance / soul sounds of Ben Westbeech, chill out don Afterlife aka Steve Miller, Maya Jane Cole’s recent deep house remix of Tom Middleton, Crazy P’s dramatic Dansim remix, Kaine feat Kath Diamond, a brand new remix of Blaze’s classic ‘Lovelee Dae’ and a previously unreleased Atjazz rework of 2010’s Ibiza anthem ‘Hey Hey ‘ by Dennis Ferrer.

With a full range of exclusives, Defected In The House Ibiza ’11 is what we consider to be a fully representative, fresh, current yet timeless selection of house music from some of the very finest producers working today.

Defected In the House Ibiza 11 mixed by Simon Dunmore
Release date 30th May 2011
Label Defected Records

01. Human Life 'In It Together' (Original Mix)
02. D. Turk & Doc Link featuring Angel-A 'No Good For Me' (Guy Robin Remix)
03. Guy Robin featuring Lucy Randell 'Only You'
04. Simbad featuring Brian Temba 'Come Join In' (Original Mix)
05. Induceve 'Time To Begin'
06. KORT 'Tomorrow'
07. Submission 'Women Beat Their Men (Cevin’s Peak Hour Dub)
08. Bassfort 'Dixtrit'
09. Guti & Luca Bacchetti 'Finale'
10. Storm Queen 'Look Right Through (Vocal Mix)
11. Kings Of Tomorrow featuring April 'I Need To Love Myself' (Sandy Rivera's Demo Mix)
King Britt presents Firefly featuring Ursula Rucker 'Supernatural' (Accapella)
12. Aki Bergen featuring Carmen Sherry 'Into My Soul' (Original Mix)
13. Midnight Express featuring Sabrina Johnston 'Hallelujah' (Solid Groove Dub)
14. Stuffa featuring David A Tobin 'Proof' (Original Version)
DJD featuring Anthony Joseph 'Buddah' (Accapella)
15. Freaks & 012 'Conscious' (Henrik Schwarz Remix)
16. 4th Measure Men '4 You' (Maya Jane Coles Remix)

01. Frankie Knuckles presents Director's Cut featuring Jamie Principle 'I’ll Take You There' (Dimitri From Paris Re-Edit) & (Director’s Cut Classic Signature Mix)
02. Simone Vitullo featuring Lady Vale 'Never Give Up' (Original Mix)
03. ATFC 'Dazzle'
04. Supernova featuring Kevin Saunderson 'Beat Me Back' (Original Mix)
Nathan G & Giom 'World Go Round' (Accapella)
05. Style Of Eye 'Sexx' (Original Mix)
06. Sandy Rivera & Virus J 'Put Your Hands Up' (JoeySuki Remix)
07. Jason Chance 'Head Shake' (Original Mix)
Nouveau Yorican 'Chiuso' (Chocolate Puma Accapella)
08. Soul Purpose 'Breakdown For Love'
09. Bit Funk 'She’s Got 2 Hearts' (Ghosts Of Venice Remix)
10. Roy Davis Jr Featuring J.Noize & Kaye Fox 'Enjoy The Ride' (James Talk & Ridney Remix)
11. Michael Gray, Danism & Rae 'You Will Remember' (Franky Rizardo Remix)
12. Osunlade 'Idiosyncracy'
13. Solomun 'Talk To The Hand'
STUDIO APARTMENT featuring Rae 'Your Words' (David Penn Deep Deep FX)
14. James Talk & Ridney featuring Max C 'One For Me'
15. Sergio Flores featuring Joy Malcolm 'Give It Back' (Born To Funk Remix)
16. Blaze featuring Palmer Brown 'Do You Remember House' (Solid Groove Remix)
17. Copyright featuring Nuwella Love 'Im All Yours' (Main Mix)
18. The Shapeshifters & Shermanology 'Waiting For You'

01. Ben Westbeech 'Falling' (Original Extended Mix)
02. Afterlife 'Fantasy'
03. Dennis Ferrer 'Hey Hey' (Atjazz Remix)
04. Tom Middleton 'Cicadas' (Maya Jane Coles Remix)
05. Blaze 'Lovelee Dae' (Joyce Muniz Remix)
06. Youandewan '1988'
07. Zoo Look 'Holdin’ On'
08. Mellow Madness 'Now Your Calling' (DJ Spinna Remix)
09. Alton Miller & Amp Fiddler 'When The Morning Comes' (Main Vocal Mix)
10. Danism 'Love The Way' (Crazy P Remix)
11. Kaine featuring Kathy Diamond 'Love Saves The Day' (More Piano Instrumental)

Evlear Magazine We write articles about Music, Cars, Road Rallies, Lifestyle, and Festivals.