Freeride Millenium presents Queer Base

Freeride Millenium presents Queer Base is a proud new charity project and the first-ever compilation from this well-regarded label.

Freeride Millenium presents Queer Base Photo by Queer Base

Talented artists such as Massimiliano Pagliara, Zombies in Miami, Younger Than Me, Soulphiction, Hard Ton, Rotciv, Modular Project, Benjamin Fröhlich and many more serve up a scintillating selection of house, synth, techno, disco and downbeat, and all profits from this release will be directed to Queer Base.

Queer Base is an organization in Vienna that offers social and legal counseling to LGBTQI+ refugees who arrive in Austria, including providing help with court cases, finding housing, community events, organizing German lessons, HIV/STI testing, and more. Further details can be found at ​

Label regular "Sun Shy Boy" kicks things off with "Don't Catch Me Running", a rueful and catchy downbeat pop song with longing chords. After the ambient turned beatdown track "Horizon" from Delicate Features, Jorkes sink us into a lush deep house groove and O.S.T. paints musical pictures of lazy hot days in the park with the pastoral beauty of "U and I (Are Living)", and "Be Like That" from Raphael Schön switch up the mood with a more kinetic electronic track that brims with futurism.

Timeless deep house vibes abound on Benjamin Fröhlich's excellent "Birdhouse", then venerated mainstay Massimiliano Pagliara slows things down with the majestic synth arpeggios and far-sighted cosmic sounds of "Without You", before Milan's Modular Project drop some 80's influenced psychedelic house. The mid-section of this broad and brilliant collection takes in soft rock tinged Balearic disco, bubbling house and then stripped back and perfectly atmospheric disco-tech from Zombies in Miami & Joseeph with "Walking Home".

The most direct grooves come from the dark, techno leaning "That Escape" by Sedef Adasi, resident of the BLITZ Club in Munich, the twisted synth workout that is Super Drama's 'Friction' and the late-night drones of the meditative "Cinderella" by Cantor. Zamal and Younger Than Me then explore deep acid techno territory on their fine contributions and Hard Ton, the irrepressible Italian from labels like Toy Tonics, then serves up stomping synth and vocal disco gold before much-loved house innovator Soulphiction closes out in fine style with the steamy and atmospheric, rough-edged house of "Tedium".

This compilation excels on a musical front but also by highlighting and supporting the vital work undertaken by Queer Base. The album comes with beautiful and bespoke artwork by Daniel Rajcsanyi and all mastering was carried out by Klas-Henrik Lindblad at Blackheadstudios.

Various Artists - Freeride Millenium presents Queer Base
Release Date July 2020
Label Freeride Millenium

1. Sun Shy Boy - Don't Catch Me Running
2. Delicate Features - Horizon
3. Jorkes - Waiting For You
4. O.S.T - U and I (Are Living)
5. Raphael Schön - Be Like That
6. Benjamin Fröhlich - Birdhouse
7. Massimiliano Pagliara - Without You
8. Modular Project - Denim Jacket
9. Rotciv - Durch
10. Zombies in Miami, Joseeph - Walking Home
11. Sedef Adasi - That Escape
12. Super Drama - Friction
13. Cantor - Cinderella
14. Zamal - T0113
15. Younger Than Me - Burn Brain (Burn Mix)
16. Hard Ton - The Party
17. SoulPhiction - Tedium

Evlear Magazine We write articles about Music, Cars, Road Rallies, Lifestyle, and Festivals.