Quitter Paname by Berzingue

Parisian DJ/producer Berzingue readies Quitter Paname EP for Pont Neuf Records.

Quitter Paname by Berzingue Photo by Fabian Appolaire

Rising Parisian-talent Berzingue makes a welcome return to Pont Neuf this February, serving up a five-track EP in the form of "Quitter Paname". It acts as his first-ever solo release and marks the label's maiden release of 2022, signifying a fresh milestone for Berzingue and kicking off a stellar release schedule for the French imprint.

The title track "Quitter Paname" sets the tone, manifesting as a soothing house number packed full of warm chords and airy layers throughout. As described by Berzingue: "it's a jam I made at the beginning of the first lockdown. The goal was to escape with the music, which is reflected in the sound".

"Woodflaure" soon arrives, with punchy kick-hat combos residing next to glitchy synth tones to create a late-night, dancefloor cut, before "L'impasse" takes its place. Ethereal and emotive, the resonant bassline reminds us that this is a club-driven number, whilst celestial synths transport us to a world far removed from ours. "I made "Woodflaure" in one go after one of our gigs as ALVA on Concrete's wood floor in Paris. It's a euphoric and festive house tribute to this place, whereas "L'impasse" is more electro and braindance oriented. The name refers to where I lived in Paris for two years, in the Pigalle district".

The penultimate track comes next in "Barcelonights", featuring Parisian producer Cosmonection, a looping, feel-good offering that you can't help but dance to. "A few days after a Pont Neuf date at Elrow in Barcelona, Cosmonection and I went back into the studio in Paris to create a track that would capture the sunny and soaring feeling we had while playing there... and Barcelonights was born". That energetic feel remains throughout the final piece of the EP, as "Dilemme" rounds off proceedings on a high with these staggering percussion and intermittent drum patterns.

Berzingue - Quitter Paname
Release Date February 2022
Label Pont Neuf Records

01. Quitter Paname
02. Woodflaure
03. L’impasse
04. Barcelonights (feat. Cosmonection)
05. Dilemme (Break Mix)

Mathias Haegglund Code Collector, Globetrotter, and Occasional Gamer.