The First Agreement EP by Joey Daniel

SiO Records boss Joey Daniel returns as he rounds out the label's 2022 schedule with a trio of late-night offerings via his The First Agreement EP.

The First Agreement EP by Joey Daniel Photo by B. Lubking

Setting the tone early with a selection of quality releases made for the dancefloor, Joey Daniel and his blossoming SiO Records imprint has quickly caught the attention of a long list of leading names within the minimal-leaning realms of house and techno. Fresh from welcoming his first guest to the label, with Argentinian maestro Guti serving up a collection of slick productions, the label founder is back to close out the year as he delivers a well-crafted package showcasing his talents within the studio via his "The First Agreement EP".

The title track "The First Agreement" is a typically smooth production guided by crisp percussion arrangements and hooky vocal interjections to bring a captivating and hypnotic groove with hazy yet punchy undertones. Next, "Positive Territory" merges organic drums with eerie, warping vocal murmurs and spiraling lead synths for yet more early-hours material, before "Upside Down Jazz" closes the show by delving into off-kilter territories as wonky synth stabs and echoed vocal snippets ebb and wave around the track's on point groove.

Joey Daniel - The First Agreement EP
Release Date December 2022
Label SiO Records

1. The First Agreement
2. Positive Territory
3. Upside Down Jazz

Michael Kiechle Born in München. Living currently in Lisboa.