Midnight Time EP by Makèz

Makèz returns to Heist Recordings with a stellar five-track EP featuring Life On Planets & AVA LAVÁ

Midnight Time EP by Makèz Photo by Heist Recordings

Dropping one of the most sought-after IDs of 2023, production duo Makèz made huge waves with their anthemic collab "Downstream" on NO ART alongside Life On Planets, picking up widespread radio support from Pete Tong to Tom Ravenscroft and beyond. Having cut their teeth on Dam Swindle's Heist label in 2019 as newcomers, the Amsterdam-based pairing comes full circle as they bring their classy jazz-tinged sonics to the label again, bearing all the hallmarks of seasoned pros.

"Midnight Time EP" kicks off with "Closer," a sensual jazz-inflected cut carried forward by lush neo-soul vocals from AVA LAVÁ nestled over top of crunchy chords and shuffling percussion. Next up, "Running From The Noise" sees Makèz reunite with Life On Planets for more dancefloor gold, delivering an effortlessly cool track where supple grooves meet blissed-out male vocals. The title cut, "Midnight Time," sets its sights on the dancefloor thanks to its killer rolling live bassline, colorful Rhodes chords, and dreamy vocals from AVA LAVÁ & Joey Hotwax.

On the flip, "The Answer" takes things into more Chicago-inspired club territories, opting for clean 909 drums and playful acid licks under steamy vox samples before, "Gratitude" goes even more profound, combining haunting strings with dreamy vocal loops as cybernetic synth line bubbles in the mix.

Makèz - Midnight Time EP
Release Date March 2024
Label Heist Recordings

A1. Closer (feat. AVA LAVÁ)
A2. Running From The Noise (feat. Life On Planets)
A3. Midnight Time (feat. AVA LAVÁ & Joey Hotwax)
B1. The Answer
B2. Gratitude

Mathias Haegglund Code Collector, Globetrotter, and Occasional Gamer.